My Skin Story – Part 1

It started from Acne

When I was still a student, I never had any major skin issues (thank god!). They only started since I began my first job after graduation. I didn’t have a stressful career but it all started from one zit. I squeezed it, it bled, somehow it got infected and the next day I got two or three more zits appear on my face. Does this sound familiar to you? I never cared to do any skincare for my face. I have oily skin, moisturizers make it oiler, I thought. I don’t even use a toner. I was THAT BAD.

And so the problem grew. My pimples spread to the entire right cheek. I squeezed it because I had itchy hands. It was just getting worse and worse. I felt ashamed. And so I went to see a doctor.

The doctor prescribed me some Tretinoin and told me that this cream is very strong and that I could only use it at night. It supposedly dries out my acne and stops it from getting more infection.

This was my first encounter with Tretinoin a.k.a Retin-A. I was given some moisturizer to apply after applying the Retin-A and was told that my skin is going to get worse before it gets better. I freaked out. I had to mentally prepare myself.

And so, it did get worse. The pimples surfaced more and my self-esteem was at its lowest. I was in a management position and I felt embarrassed facing my subordinates. Skin issues are the worst!

I was told that I should start by using it every alternate day and then once my skin has gotten used to it I could use it every day. Sometimes I would forget to apply the night before and apply it in the day if I am not going out. Wrong move!

I probably got impatient because I remembered my skin peeling and feeling really dry. I would go out with my makeup on and then midday I would see my skin looking cakey and flaky even after I’ve applied moisturizer– disgusting. I stopped using it after a month or two because I couldn’t see much results. By then, my bumps have become smaller but they are still present. So I went back to the dermatologist.

This time round she gave me oral medication which I will talk about next time which did the wonders for me.

To be continued next post…

 

 

Leave a Reply

